18+ NCAAF Betting: What Will College Football’s Power Five Conferences Look like In 2024

a Pac-12 flag attached to a sinking ship

The Pac-12 Conference, a gathering of collegiate programs that has been around for over 100 years, has the potential to evaporate following several universities declaring allegiances to other conferences.

This Power Five Conference is now down to the following four members, who are now left scrambling to find a home.

Remaining Pac-12 Teams

  • Cal Golden Bears
  • Oregon State Beavers
  • Stanford Cardinal
  • Washington State Cougars

Both Cal and Stanford have reached out to the ACC, expressing interest in joining. Notre Dame, a full-voting member of the ACC despite not playing football in the conference, is really pushing for the addition of the Golden Bears and Cardinal programs.

12 yeas are required for adding a new program. Lack of support has caused for no vote to occur just yet. With the realm of college football betting changing so much next year, we’ve gathered together the current list of teams for each Power Five Conference to wrap our heads around all these moves.

The SEC In 2024

  • Alabama Crimson Tide
  • Arkansas Razorbacks
  • Auburn Tigers
  • Florida Gators
  • Georgia Bulldogs
  • Kentucky Wildcats
  • LSU Tigers
  • Ole Miss Rebels
  • Mississippi State Bulldogs
  • Missouri Tigers
  • Oklahoma Sooners
  • South Carolina Gamecocks
  • Tennessee Volunteers
  • Texas Longhorns
  • Texas A&M Aggies
  • Vanderbilt Commodores

This entire conference scalping process began when Oklahoma and Texas decided to become members of the SEC in 2024. Outside of the enormous contracts that are awarded to SEC schools for the television broadcast rights, each program’s chances in the odds for 18+ CFP betting improve just based on their strength of schedule.

The SEC is likely done expanding for now unless they can land a juggernaut like Notre Dame, Florida State University, or the Miami Hurricanes.

The Big Ten In 2024

  • Arizona Wildcats
  • Illinois Fighting Illini
  • Indiana Hoosiers
  • Iowa Hawkeyes
  • Maryland Terrapins
  • Michigan Wolverines
  • Michigan State Spartans
  • Minnesota Golden Gophers
  • Nebraska Cornhuskers
  • Northwestern Wildcats
  • Ohio State Buckeyes
  • Oregon Ducks
  • Penn State Nittany Lions
  • Purdue Boilermakers
  • Rutgers Scarlet Knights
  • UCLA Bruins
  • USC Trojans
  • Washington Huskies
  • Wisconsin Badgers

In the wake of the SEC poaching the Sooners and Longhorns, the Big Ten joined the party and signed UCLA and USC to the Big Ten starting with the 2024 season. The raid of the Pac-12 began once again last week when the Big Ten announced the acquisition of Washington, Oregon, and Arizona.

The Big 12 In 2024

  • Arizona State Sun Devils
  • Baylor Bears
  • Colorado Buffaloes
  • Iowa State Cyclones
  • Kansas Jayhawks
  • Kansas State Cowboys
  • Oklahoma State Wildcats
  • TCU Horned Frogs
  • Texas Tech Red Raiders
  • West Virginia Mountaineers
  • Cincinnati Bearcats
  • BYU Cougars
  • Houston Cougars
  • UCF Knights
  • Utah Utes

The Big 12 saw the writing on the wall and joined in on the pillaging of the Pac-12, landing Arizona State, Colorado, and Utah. The Atlantic Coast Conference seems poised to negate the addition of Cal and Stanford. What will happen to the remaining Pac-12 programs if the ACC remains as is?

The ACC In 2024

  • Boston College Eagles
  • Clemson Tigers
  • Duke Blue Devils
  • Florida State Seminoles
  • Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets
  • Louisville Cardinals
  • Miami Hurricanes
  • North Carolina Tarheels
  • NC State Wolfpack
  • Pittsburgh Panthers
  • Syracuse Orangemen
  • Virginia Cavaliers
  • Virginia Tech Hokies
  • Wake Forest Demon Deacons

The Mountain West has expressed interest in adding all four Pac-12 teams to their 12 programs. The potential rebranded Pac-16 would retain some college football relevance, but would they still be considered a Power Five?

Potential Pac-16 Conference After Mountain West Merger

  • Air Force Falcons
  • Boise State Broncos
  • Cal Golden Bears
  • California State University – Fresno Bulldogs
  • Colorado State Rams
  • Hawaii Rainbow Warriors
  • Nevada Wolf Pack
  • New Mexico Lobos
  • Oregon State Beavers
  • San Diego State Aztecs
  • San Jose State Spartans
  • Stanford Cardinal
  • UNLV Rebels
  • Utah State Aggies
  • Washington State Cougars
  • Wyoming Cowboys

Gamblers will have to wait and see how this scenario shakes out before a Power Four designation is considered. The point could be moot anyway because only the top four ranked conference winners will earn seeds one through four in the new College Football Playoffs 12-team format.

A Power Four has already been established for the new CFP Playoffs that take hold after next season. Betting on the College Football Playoffs National Championship Game will likely include a member of the SEC, Big Ten, ACC, and Big 12 for years to come.

Sports Illustrated